Chateau de Castelnaud

The Château de Castelnaud is a fortress dating from the 12th century, classified as a historical monument. It is indeed a must-see of your holiday in Périgord. The castle hosts the war Museum in the Middle Ages as well as reproductions of full-scale war machines.
It will offer you a remarkable panorama of the Dordogne and the Château de Beynac, the Roque GAGEAC or the gardens of Marqueyssac, classified as Castelnaud among the "most beautiful Villages of France" located in the Dordogne. Open all year long, with many animations for the whole family.
All the information for your visit to Castelnaud here or on the site Castelnaud's official

The Castle of Beynac

The Castle of Beynac is one of the best preserved and one of the most famous of Périgord.
It was built in the 12th century by the barons of Beynac who control from this place the roads and waterways of the Dordogne.
You will discover during your visit, the room of the guards adjacent in the dungeon, the salle of the States of Périgord, the terrace of the spur with its breathtaking view over the valley of the Dordogne, the kitchens with their imposing chimney and the Barbican a fortification Designed to protect the main entrance to the fortress and to slow down the enemies.
More info on the details of the Château de Beynac

The Château de Commarque

More intimate than its neighbours of the Périgord noir, this unique site tells the story of the men who succeeded in it for 15 000 years.
The visit begins with a walk in the valley at the level of the prehistoric cave, continues in the cliff by the troglodyte habitats laid out, then by the medieval fortified village, up to the dungeon which dominates an impressive panorama.

The whole history of the Château de Commarque with Pé Or on the official website of the Castle of Commarque

Lascaux IV

Lascaux IV or International center of Parietal Art is a complete replica tracing the discovery of the famous ornate grotto. The whole site questions the place that Lascaux occupies in the parietal art and its relationship with contemporary creation.
Opened since December 2016, this building out of standard semis buried, fits perfectly to the hill of Montignac. On its own, this architectural prowess is worth a visit.

Know everything to prepare your visit to Lascaux IV here And on the Official website of Lascaux

The Gardens of Eyrignac

The gardens of the Manoir Eyrignac, historical monuments of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, are undoubtedly the most Beautiful gardens of Périgord With a unique collection of vegetable sculptures.
Masterpiece of the Topiary art, these gardens of greenery composed of charm, yew, box and Cypress are beautiful and different every season and visit each day of the year.
Throughout the year, animations are offered.

All about the gardens of Eyrignac with or on The official website

The Gardens of Marqueyssac

A classified Site, the Hanging Gardens of Marqueyssac offer around a castle covered with slate from the beginning of the nineteenth century, more than 6 kilometers of shady walks, lined with 150 000 century hand-carved centennials, and embellished with lookouts, rubbles, Waterfalls and green Theatres ...
It faces the castle of Castelnaud and dominates the valley of the Dordogne. A pure example of the art of man to shape nature.
It easily finds its place in the top 10 of the sites to visit in the Dordogne
Learn more with the detailed listing of Marqueyssac Gardens or on the Official website

The Bournat Park

On the banks of the Vézère, this vast site extends over hectares on which the reenactments of the old life are laid out. Artisans revive a forgotten world. To do this, children and adults indulge in the ancestral gestures of the miller, the blacksmith, the baker, the strapping, the Wood Turner, the potter, etc. This very popular leisure park in Périgord has 10 rides at the time of 1900.
All information and rates on or the Official website of the Bournat

The Aquarium of the black Périgord

We are proud to own the largest freshwater aquarium in Europe in the Dordogne. It houses more than 6000 fish of all species. Throughout your visit you will participate in animations such as feeding carps or make the acquaintance of snakes and other alligators and iguanas. The site has been enhanced by novelty such as Miror maze a prehistoric labyrinth, Big Bird a strong air path and minigolf.

All the information and prices of the aquarium of Périgord noir On Pé or The official website of the Aquarium

La Roque Saint Christophe

Troglodyte sites in Périgord? If only one should be remembered, it would be the Roque Saint Fet, a majestic site dominating the Vézère valley, perched at tens of metres high, a long notch in the cliff that has sheltered men since the dawn of time.
You will discover reenactments of prehistoric scenes, a forge, a medieval kitchen, machines that have been used for the layout of the site through the eras
To know everything, Discover the detailed page of La Roque Saint Christophe

The Strong house of Reignac

The facade of the 14th century is only the visible part of the strong house of Reignac a large fortified mansion. Behind, there are many rooms dug in the rock, in an exceptional state of conservation and decorated with period furniture.
Classified as a historical monument, it is in Périgord the most strange, the most secret, the most extraordinary and the most mysterious castle
It's up to you to unravel its mysteries ...
Complete information on the detailed file of Pé

The Caves of Maxange

The caves of Maxange in the bush of Cadouin, offer a rare diversity in concretions.
You will discover stalactites of stalagmites, numerous panels of aragonites covering whole walls, fistulas of extreme finesse, and especially an exceptional profusion of rare crystallizations called "eccentric" absolutely Remarkable.
In short a geological masterpiece to visit absolutely.
All the information on the detailed card or on The official website

The Chasm of Proumeyssac

The abyss of Proumeyssac is a huge underground vault that owes its nickname "Crystal Cathedral" to its walls adorned with exceptional density crystallizations.
No one could have imagined that such a treasure was hidden beneath our feet. It took several centuries before we dared to venture into it.
Now accessible by a transverse corridor, it is without difficulty that you will be able to discover all the splendours.
All about the abyss of Proumeyssac here

The Museum of the street of time that passes

The last one arrived in the sites to visit in Dordogne, since opened since December 2016, it is no less interesting and original. Located at Allas les Mines in Périgord Noir, all at the edge of the Dordogne, this timeless place does not resemble a traditional museum, but rather a village 1900 which would have arisen from the past.
A coup de coeur de Pé for this little museum to discover.
Know everything by consulting the detailed sheet.

Discover the Périgord in 7 days

Know that there is a book for smart holidaymakers!
Want to visit a maximum of things in a week but don't know what to start with? Do you want to avoid tourist traps? You have a tight vacation budget?

In this book you will discover the tips, good plans, addresses, tips... Based on the experience of Périgourdins
The only book that makes you know the Périgord as well as a Périgourdin!
Created by Périgourdins, the book «Discover the Périgord in 7 days without ruining you» Allows its readers to avoid the vagaries of mass tourism.
You will learn how to choose in 5 minutes a tourist site that you will enjoy, how to avoid paying car parks, how not to spend hours to wait to visit the most visited tourist sites, where to eat well for cheap....

More information and order the book on

Château de Castelnaud

Le château de Castelnaud est une forteresse datant du 12ème siècle classé monument historique.Il est bel et bien un incontournable de vos vacances en Périgord. Le château accueille le Musée de la guerre au Moyen-âge ainsi que des reproductions de machines de guerre grandeur nature.
Il vous offrira un panorama remarquable sur la Dordogne et le château de Beynac, La Roque Gageac ou encore les jardins de Marqueyssac, classé comme Castelnaud parmi les "Plus Beaux Villages de France" situés en Dordogne. Ouvert toute l'année, avec de nombreuses animations pour toute la famille.
Toutes les infos pour votre visite ici ou sur le site officiel de castelnaud

Le château de Beynac

Le château de Beynac est l’un des mieux conservés et l’un des plus réputés du Périgord.
Il a été édifié au 12ème siècle par les barons de Beynac qui contrôlent depuis ce lieu les voies routières et navigables de la Dordogne.
Vous découvrirez lors de votre visite, la salle des gardes accolée au donjon, la salle des états du Périgord, la terrasse de l’éperon avec sa vue imprenable sur la vallée de la Dordogne, les cuisines avec leur imposante cheminée et la barbacane une fortification avancée destinée à protéger l’entrée principale de la forteresse et à ralentir les ennemis.
Plus d'infos sur la fiche détaillée du château de Beynac

Le château de Commarque

Plus intimiste que ses voisins du Périgord noir, ce site unique raconte l'histoire des hommes qui s'y sont succédés durant 15 000 ans.
La visite commence par une promenade dans la vallée au niveau de la grotte préhistorique, se poursuit dans la falaise par les habitats troglodytiques aménagés, puis par le village médiéval fortifié, jusqu'au donjon qui domine un impressionant panorama.

Toute l'histoire du château de Commarque avec Périgord.com ou sur le site officiel du château de Commarque

Lascaux IV

Lascaux IV ou centre international de l'art pariétal est une réplique complète retraçant la découverte de la célèbre grotte ornée. Le site entier questionne sur la place qu’occupe Lascaux dans l’art pariétal et son rapport avec la création contemporaine.
Ouvert depuis décembre 2016, ce bâtiment hors norme semis enterré, s'intègre parfaitement à la colline de Montignac. A elle seule, cette prouesse architecturale vaut le détour.

Tout savoir pour préparer votre visite de Lascaux IV ici et sur le site officiel de lascaux

Les jardins d'Eyrignac

Les Jardins du Manoir d’Eyrignac, Monuments Historiques des XVII et XVIIIe siècles, sont incontestablement les plus beaux jardins du Périgord avec une collection unique de sculptures végétales.
Chef d'oeuvre de l’art topiaire, ces jardins de verdure composés de charme, d’ifs, de buis et de cyprès sont magnifiques et différents à chaque saison et se visitent tous les jours de l’année.
Tout au long de l'année, des animations sont proposées.

Tout savoir sur les jardins d'Eyrignac avec Perigord.com ou sur le site officiel

Les jardins de Marqueyssac

Site classé, les jardins suspendus de Marqueyssac offrent autour d’un château couvert de lauzes du début du XIXe siècle, plus de 6 kilomètres de promenades ombragées, bordées de 150 000 buis centenaires taillés à la main, et agrémentées de belvédères, rocailles, cascades et théâtres de verdure…
Il fait face au château de Castelnaud et domine la vallée de la Dordogne. Un pur exemple de l'art de l'homme à façonner la nature.
Il trouve aisément sa place dans le top 10 des sites à visiter en Dordogne
En savoir plus avec la fiche détaillée ou sur le site officiel Marqueyssac.com

La parc du Bournat

Au bord de la Vézère, ce vaste site s’étend sur des hectares sur lesquels sont aménagés des reconstitutions de la vie d’autrefois. Les artisans font revivre un monde oublié. Pour se faire, enfants et adultes s’adonnent aux gestes ancestraux du meunier, du forgeron,  du boulanger, du feuillardier, du tourneur sur bois, de la potière, etc. Ce parc de loisirs très populaire en Périgord dispose de 10 manèges de l’époque de 1900.
Toutes les informations et tarifs sur Perigord.com ou le site officiel du Bournat

L'Aquarium du Périgord noir

Nous sommes fier de posséder en Dordogne le plus grand aquarium d'eau douce d'Europe.Il abrite plus de 6000 poissons toutes espèces confondues. tout au long de votre visite vous participerez à des animations comme le nourrissage des carpes ou bien ferez la connaissances des serpents et autres alligators et iguanes. Le site s'est enrichit de nouveauté comme miror maze un labyrinthe préhistorique, Big Bird un parcours aérien à sensations forte et le minigolf.

Toutes les infos et tarifs sur Périgord.com ou le site officiel de l'aquarium

 

La Roque Saint Christophe

Des sites troglodytiques en Périgord ? Si ne fallait en retenir qu'un, ce serait la Roque Saint Chritophe, un site majestueux dominant la vallée de la Vézère, perché à des dizaines de mètre de haut, une longue encoche dans la falaise qui a abrité les hommes depuis la nuit des temps.
Vous y découvrirez des reconstitutions de scènes préhistoriques, d'une forge, d'une cuisine médiévale, d'engins ayant servis à l'aménagement du site à travers les époques
Pour tout savoir, découvrez la page détaillée de la Roque Saint Christophe

La maison forte de Reignac

La façade du 14ème siècle n'est que la partie visible de la maison forte de Reignac une grande demeure fortifiée. Derrière, se cachent de nombreuses salles creusées dans la roche, dans un état de conservation exceptionnel et garnies de mobilier d'époque.
Classé monument historique, il est en Périgord le château le plus étrange, le plus secret, le plus extraordinaire et le plus mystérieux aussi
A vous de percer ses mystères...
Toutes les infos sur la fiche détaillées de Périgord.com

Les grottes de Maxange

Les Grottes de Maxange au Buisson de Cadouin,offrent une diversité rare en concrétions.
Vous y découvrirez des stalactites des stalagmites, de nombreux panneaux d’aragonites recouvrant des murs entiers, des fistuleuses d’une extrême finesse, et surtout une profusion exceptionnelle de cristallisations rares dites « excentriques » absolument remarquables.
En bref un chef d’œuvre géologique à visiter absolument.
Toutes les infos sur la fiche détaillée ou sur le site officiel

Le gouffre de Proumeyssac

Le gouffre de Proumeyssac est une immense voûte souterraine qui doit son surnom de « cathédrale de cristal » à ses parois ornées de cristallisations à densité exceptionnelle.
Nul n'aurait pu imaginer qu'un tel trésor se cachait sous nos pieds. Il a fallu plusieurs siècles avant que l'on ose s'y aventurer.
Aujourd'hui accessible par un couloir transversal, c'est sans peine que vous pourrez en découvrir toutes les splendeurs.
Tout savoir sur le gouffre de Proumeyssac ici

Le musée de la rue du temps qui passe

Le dernier arrivé dans les sites à visiter en Dordogne, car ouvert depuis décembre 2016, il n'en est pas moins intéressant et original. Situé à Allas les mines en Périgord noir, tout au bord de la Dordogne, ce lieu hors du temps ne ressemble pas à un musée traditionnel, mais plutôt à un village 1900 qui serait surgi du passé.
Un coup de cœur de Périgord.com pour ce petit musée à découvrir.
Tout savoir en consultant la fiche détaillée.