Mille et un châteaux en Dordogne ?

More than a thousand castles of the Middle Ages or the Renaissance, mansions and strong houses

Why is Périgord called the Land of miles and castles?

There are not really 1,000 and 1 châteaux in the Dordogne, the formula has an advertising ring to it, but the fact is very real: while it is estimated that there are just over 10,000 châteaux built in France, the Dordogne has about 11% of them, making it the richest French department in terms of châteaux.

A thousand and one castles in the Dordogne ?

Why is this country literally covered with castle?

The Hundred Years' War, which lasted for more than a century (1337 - 1453), opposed the French to the English and began with a battle at Bergerac and ended at Castillon la Bataille. In short, it was in the Dordogne (the Périgord of the time) that most of the quarrels between the English and the French were to be fought, and the two kings fought their wars there, granting privileges and the right to build to all the lords who agreed to lend their allegiance. Where, elsewhere, kings are vigilant when it comes to authorizing fortifications that could turn against them, they accept many of them here.

In addition, parallel lines of castles facing each other on either side of the valleys or river banks can be observed very clearly, such as the Chateau de Castelnaud long occupied by the English, who are facing the Beynac Castle which served as a stronghold for the French.
The medieval castles were not then dismantled, serving as homes for the baronnies who gradually left them without destroying them to build more modern and comfortable Renaissance-style residences.

Chateau de Castelnaud

Château de Beynac

Today many castles are open to visit. Discover the castles that visit our section: The castles of the Dordogne Périgord.

For more information, you can access Almost exhaustive list of the castles of Dordogne

Organise your stay Visits, leisure, accommodation, gastronomy

Mille et un châteaux en Dordogne ?

Plus de mille châteaux du moyen âge ou de la renaissance, manoirs et maisons fortes

Pourquoi le Périgord est-il surnommé le pays des milles et un châteaux ?

Il n'y a pas réellement 1000 et 1 châteaux  en Dordogne, la formule a une consonance pubicitaire, mais le fait est bien réel : si on estime à un peu plus de 10 000 le nombre de châteaux édifiés en France, la Dordogne en possède environ 11 % elle est donc le département français le plus riche aau niveau des châteaux.

bataille de Castillon

Pourquoi ce pays est il littéralement recouvert de château ?

La guerre de Cent Ans qui a duré pendant plus d'un siècle (1337 – 1453)  opposait les français aux anglais et bien celle-ci débute par une bataille à Bergerac et s’achève à Castillon la Bataille. Bref, c’est en Dordoge (le périgord de l'époque) que va se jouer le gros des querelles entre Anglais et Français, et les deux rois vont y mener leurs guerres en accordant privilèges et droit de construire à tous les seigneurs qui acceptent de bien leur prêter allégeance. Là où, ailleurs, les rois sont vigilants lorsqu’il s’agit d’autoriser des fortifications qui pourraient se retourner contre eux, ils en acceptent ici de très nombreuses .

On peut en outre observer très nettement des lignes parallèles de châteaux qui se font face de part et d'autre des vallées ou des rives des rivières comme notamment le château de Castelnaud longtemps occupé par les anglais, qui fait face au château de Beynac qui servait de place forte aux français.
Les châteaux du moyen âge n'ont ensuite pas été démantelé, servant de logis aux baronnies qui petit à petit les ont quitté sans les détruire pour construire des demeures plus moderne et plus confortables de style renaissance.

Château de Castelnaud

Château de Beynac

Aujourd'hui de nombreux châteaux sont ouverts à la visite. Découvrez les châteaux qui se visitent dans notre rubrique : Les châteaux du Périgord.

Pour en savoir plus, vous accédez ici à liste quasi exhaustive des châteaux de Dordogne