Padirac Abyss Padirac Abyss Padirac Abyss Padirac Abyss Padirac Abyss

Padirac Abyss

Reality is beyond imagination!

Welcome to the Gouffre de Padirac

Near Rocamadour, The Padirac Abyss is in the Dordogne Valley on the Causse du Quercy in the Lot, a little over an hour away from Sarlat.

The Gouffre de Padirac officially opened its cave to the public on 10 April 1899. It is then among one of the tourist sites of France in the 19th century. Fitted out for the visit, it is preserved in excellent condition and has not changed since. Only the reception building was built in 1930 for an adapted and comfortable public entrance.

Without hesitation, the Padirac chasm is the most beautiful in France, its dimensions are out of the ordinary: First of all, a 35-metre diameter and 103-metre deep well that you have to contemplate from above but also from below with its breathtaking view. The descent can be done by a lift or a staircase.
At the bottom of the cavity, you will discover the entrance to an underground network no less than 42 km long. You will walk down a first gallery leading to an underground lake. There a boatman is waiting for you for a discovery by boat.
Arriving on the opposite bank, your guide will take you to marvel at the work of time. Giant limestone formations, underground lakes, incredible sculptures in the shape of pendentives, piles of plates or whatever you and your children like to imagine... everything is brought to light to magnify the different caves, the impressive stalactites and stalagmites, and the most surprising nooks and crannies.

The Gouffre de Padirac officially opened its cave to the public on 10 April 1899. It is then among one of the tourist sites of France in the 19th century. Fitted out for the visit, it is preserved in excellent condition and has not changed since. Only the reception building was built in 1930 for an adapted and comfortable public entrance.

Private exploratory visit

For one evening, live the incredible underground adventure of the Gouffre de Padirac, as Edouard-Alfred Martel lived it in 1889, during his first descent into what was then called the "Devil's Hole". Lighted with a lantern, you will feel the Abyss fully in silence, darkness, freshness.

The Abyss will be told to you according to the many writings and testimonies that Edouard-Alfred Martel has left us... an extraordinary multi-sensory experience and a privileged discovery of the natural wonders of this site that has been dazzling us since 1889!

Tariff details

Individual Rates:

Adult 17.00 €
Child from 4 to 12 years old* 12.50 € 12.50
Child under 4 years old* free
Preferential adult ** 15.50 € €
Preferential child 4-12 years old ** 11.50 € 11.50

* On presentation of a valid receipt
** Disabled visitor & his companion, FFS (French Federation of Speleology) licensee, student, guide-lecturer - on presentation of a valid document of proof.

Adult and mixed groups:

From 20 people
Adult 14.00 € (instead of 17.00 €)
Child from 4 to 12 years 10.40 € (instead of 12.50€)
Children under 4 years old free
1 FREE ACCOMPANYING PERSON FOR EVERY 20 PAYING VISITORS
1 FREE COACH DRIVER INCLUDED

Rates for private visits

1 to 4 visitors 440€ ttc
Additional adult visitor 110€ttc
Additional visitor 4-12 years 75€ttc
Children under 4 years old : free
Offer valid only during the opening hours of the site, subject to availability.

Dates and Times

Open Every day from June 28th to November 11th 2020

 

Sector
Quercy
Address:
Le Gouffre, 46500 Padirac, France
Online booking
Contact the owner

    Your name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your phone

    Subject

    Your message


    What to find nearby?

Gouffre de Padirac Gouffre de Padirac Gouffre de Padirac Gouffre de Padirac Gouffre de Padirac

Gouffre de Padirac

La réalité dépasse l'imagination !

Bienvenue au Gouffre de Padirac

Proche de Rocamadour, Le Gouffre de Padirac est en Vallée de la Dordogne  sur le causse du Quercy dans le Lot à une petite heure de Sarlat.

Le Gouffre de Padirac a ouvert son antre officiellement au public le 10 avril 1899. Il est alors parmi  un des sites touristiques de France au XIXème siècle. Aménagé pour la visite, il est conservé dans excellent état et n’a pas changé depuis. Seul le bâtiment d’accueil a été construit en 1930 pour une entrée du public adaptée et confortable.

Sans hésitation, le gouffre de Padirac est le plus beau de France, ses dimensions sont hors normes: Tout d’abord un puits de 35 mètres de diamètre et de 103 mètres de profondeur qu’il faut contempler d’en haut mais aussi d’en bas avec sa vue vertigineuse. La descente peut se faire par un ascenseur ou un escalier.
En bas de la cavité, vous découvrirez l’entrée d’un réseau sous-terrain de pas moins de 42 km de long. Vous descendrez à pieds dans une première galerie qui mène à un lac sous-terrain. Là un batelier vous attend pour une découverte en barque.
Arrivé sur la berge d’en face, votre guide vous emmènera vous émerveiller devant l’œuvre du temps. Concrétions de calcaire géantes, lacs souterrains, sculptures incroyables en forme de pendeloque, de pile d’assiettes ou de tout ce que vous et vos enfants vous plairez à imaginer… tout est mis en lumière pour magnifier les différentes cavernes, les impressionnantes stalactites et stalagmites, et des recoins plus surprenants les uns que les autres.

Le Gouffre de Padirac a ouvert son antre officiellement au public le 10 avril 1899. Il est alors parmi  un des sites touristiques de France au XIXème siècle. Aménagé pour la visite, il est conservé dans excellent état et n’a pas changé depuis. Seul le bâtiment d’accueil a été construit en 1930 pour une entrée du public adaptée et confortable.

Visite privative explorateur

Le temps d’une soirée, vivez l’incroyable aventure souterraine du Gouffre de Padirac, telle qu’Edouard-Alfred Martel l’a vécue en 1889, lors de sa première descente dans ce que l’on nommait à l’époque, le « Trou du diable ». Éclairé à la lanterne, vous ressentirez le Gouffre pleinement dans le silence, l’obscurité, la fraîcheur.

Le Gouffre vous sera conté selon les nombreux écrits et témoignages qu’Edouard-Alfred Martel nous a laissés… une expérience multisensorielle hors du commun et une découverte privilégiée des merveilles naturelles de ce site qui ne cesse de nous éblouir depuis 1889 !

Détail des Tarifs

Tarifs individuels:

Adulte 17.00 €
Enfant de 4 à 12 ans* 12.50 €
Enfant de moins de 4 ans* gratuit
Préférentiel adulte ** 15.50 €
Préférentiel enfant 4—12 ans ** 11.50 €

* Sur présentation d’un justificatif en cours de validité
** Visiteur handicapé & son accompagnant, licencié FFS (Fédération Française de Spéléologie), étudiant, guide-conférencier – sur présentation d’un justificatif en cours de validité

Groupes d'adultes et groupes mixtes:

À partir de 20 personnes
Adulte 14.00 € (au lieu de 17.00€)
Enfant de 4 à 12 ans 10.40 € (au lieu de 12.50€)
Enfants de moins de 4 ans gratuit
1 GRATUITÉ ACCOMPAGNATEUR POUR 20 VISITEURS PAYANTS
1 GRATUITÉ CONDUCTEUR D'AUTOCAR INCLUSE

Tarifs visites privées

1à 4 visiteurs 440€ ttc
Visiteur supplémentaire adulte 110€ttc
Visiteur supplémentaire 4-12ans 75€ttc
Enfants de - de 4ans : gratuit
Offre valable uniquement pendant les heures d'ouverture du site .Demande soumise à disponibilités.

Dates et horaires

Ouvert Tous les jours du 28 juin au 11 novembre 2020

 

Secteur
Quercy
Adresse :
Le Gouffre, 46500 Padirac, France
Réservation en ligne
Contacter le propriétaire

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Votre téléphone

Sujet

Votre message


Que trouver à proximité ?