Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme

Domme

Royal Bastide ranked the most beautiful villages of France

Domme Bastide Royale Classified "Most beautiful villages" of France

You can't come to Perigord Noir without making a detour to Domme.

Domme is a bastide, i.e. a small fortified town with a regular plan, created from scratch in the Middle Ages in the south-west of France. Typically, the streets of Domme intersect at right angles, the squares are square, there is a large market hall and the town is fortified. It was Philip III, known as "le Hardi", who created Domme, he decided in 1281 to create a bastide at the top of a cliff overlooking the Dordogne valley.

Domme is remarkably well preserved, the ramparts and large gates that once surrounded the city are still largely present. The stone houses have a cachet like nowhere else. A unique architectural heritage including its ramparts and the Porte des Tours (Tower Gate) in which the imprisoned Templars made engravings, still visible today.

No matter where you come from, you will arrive from the bottom of the city and leave your vehicle outside. The visit of Domme is done on foot, you can also discover the city by little train with a commented tour.

  • Departure from the Tower Gate
  • Place de la Halle
  • Governor's House
  • House of the Mint Drummer
  • Ramparts - Fortified gates (Del Bos Gate, Combe Gate, Tower Gate)
  • Panorama of the Dordogne valley - Old districts, flowered streets and houses, sunburnt stones

After passing the Great Hall, under which is the entrance of a huge natural concretion cave where stalactites and stalagmites abound (there is also the tourist office), you will arrive at the square shaded by plane trees and discover the Belvedere of the bar. A breathtaking panorama. You will dominate the Dordogne valley from a height of more than 100 metres and despite the hills in the distance you will have a view over dozens of kilometres.

It will then be time to go and rest on the terrace of a café, and eat a home-made Perigord strawberry ice cream.

In the South of the Périgord Noir and at the gates of Quercy, the Pays de Domme offers a wide choice of discoveries and activities.

Equipment
    Easter Special

    Easter Special

    At 2.30 pm Public garden, egg hunt organized by the holiday Committee of the Bastide of Domme & the secular friendly of Domme-Cénac.

     

    Address:
    24250 Domme
    Sector
    Black Périgord
    Contact the owner

      Your name (required)

      Your email (required)

      Your phone

      Subject

      Your message


      What to find nearby?

Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme Domme

Domme

Bastide Royale classée Plus beaux villages de France

Domme bastide royale classée “plus beaux villages” de France

Vous ne pouvez pas venir en Périgord noir sans faire un détour à Domme.

Domme est une bastide c’est à dire une petite ville fortifiée et à plan régulier, créée de toutes pièces au Moyen Âge dans le sud-ouest de la France. Typiquement les rue de Domme se coupent donc à angles droit, les places sont carrées, il y a une grande Halle et la ville est fortifiée. c’est Philippe III dit “le Hardi” qui est à l’origine de Domme,  il décida en  1281 de créer une bastide au sommet d’une falaise surplombant la vallée de la Dordogne.

Domme est remarquablement conservée, les remparts et grandes portes qui ceinturaient jadis la ville sont encore largement présents. Les maisons en pierre ont un cachet comme nul part ailleurs. Un patrimoine architectural unique dont ses remparts et la Porte des Tours dans laquelle les Templiers emprisonnés réalisèrent des gravures, encore visibles aujourd’hui.

Peu importe d’où vous veniez, vous arriverez par le bas de la ville et vous laisserait votre véhicule en dehors. La visite de Domme se fait à pieds, vous pourrez également découvrir la ville en petit train avec un parcours commenté.

  • Départ porte de la Tour
  • Place de la Halle
  • Maison du Gouverneur
  • Maison du Batteur de la Monnaie
  • Remparts – Portes fortifiées (Porte Del Bos, Porte de la Combe, Porte des Tours)
  • Panorama sur la vallée de la Dordogne – Vieux quartiers, rues et maisons fleuries, pierres brûlées de soleil

Incontournable, après avoir passé la grande Halle, sous laquelle se trouve l’entrée d’une immense grotte naturelle à concrétions où abondent stalactites et stalagmites (Là se trouve également l’office de tourisme), vous arriverez sur la place ombragée de platanes et découvrirez le Belvédère de la barre. Un panorama à couper le souffle. Vous dominerez la vallée de la Dordogne de plus de 100 mètre de haut et malgré les collines au loin vous aurez une vue sur des dizaines de kilomètres.

Il sera temps alors d’aller vous reposer sur la terrasse d’un café, et de manger une glace artisanale à la fraise du Périgord.

Au Sud du Périgord Noir et aux Portes du Quercy, le Pays de Domme offre un large choix de découvertes et activités.

Equipements
Spécial Pâques

Spécial Pâques

A 14h30 au Jardin public, chasse aux œufs organisée par le Comité des Fêtes de la Bastide de Domme & l'Amicale Laïque de Domme - Cénac.

 

Secteur
Périgord noir
Adresse :
24250 Domme
Contacter le propriétaire

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Votre téléphone

Sujet

Votre message


Que trouver à proximité ?