Excideuil Castle Excideuil Castle Excideuil Castle

Château d’Excideuil

Fortress watching over the passage from Périgord to Limousin

Welcome to the Château d'Excideuil

The castle of Excideuil is located in the north-east of the Dordogne department in the Green Perigord. It is a fortified castle that has been redesigned during its history. This fortress has the only double square keep in the Périgord, softened by a Renaissance châtelet.

History of the castle

The construction of the castle of Excideuil would begin in the 11th century when the viscounts of Limoges, wishing to watch over the road between Périgueux and Limoges, had ramparts and a keep built.

It has a tumultuous history. Over the years it has passed from hand to hand on a regular basis.

In 1182 and 1184 he was attacked by Richard the Lionheart but resisted, he fell into English hands 15 years later when landless John became master of several castles of the Viscounty of Limoges. Around 1210 the castle returned to the viscountcy. During the Hundred Years' War, it was occupied by the English in 1351, it was liberated again in 1356, returned to the English in 1360 and then liberated one last time by Du Guesclin in 1370.

Then came the Wars of Religion, still under the prerogative of the Viscount of Limoges, it returned to Jeanne d'Albret (mother of Henri iv) and briefly passed into the hands of the Protestants.
By marriage it becomes the property of the de Talleyrand family. The castle is then abandoned for decades and it deteriorates...in 1973 a fire devastates the roofs of the châtelet.

At the end of the 20th century the new owners, the Naudet family, undertook rehabilitation work. Today the dwelling and keep are privately owned, while the western part of the châtelet belongs to the commune.

Visit of the castle :

The communal part of the Château d'Excideuil is accessible free of charge all year round: you can wander freely along the ramparts and in the courtyard, admire the panorama over the Loue valley, and discover from June to October in the rooms of the chatelet, the exhibitions of painting, photography, sculpture,... organised by theThe Excit'Œil Associationin partnership with the Departmental Cultural Agency and the municipality.

Tariff details

Free open house

Dates and Times

Open all year round

 

Adresse :
Château d'excideuil 24160 Excideuil
Sector
Green Perigord
Contact the owner

    Your name (required)

    Your email (required)

    Your phone

    Subject

    Your message


    What to find nearby?

Château d’Excideuil Château d’Excideuil Château d’Excideuil

Château d’Excideuil

Forteresse veillant sur le passage du Périgord au Limousin

Bienvenue au Château d’Excideuil

Le château d’Excideuil se situe au nord-est du département de la Dordogne en Périgord vert. Il s’agit d’un château forteresse qui a été remanié au cours de son histoire. Cette forteresse  possède le seul double donjon carré du Périgord, adouci par un châtelet de Renaissance.

Histoire du château

La construction du château d’Excideuil commencerait au 11ème siècle lorsque les vicomtes de Limoges désireux de surveiller la route entre Périgueux et Limoges font construire des remparts et un donjon.

Son histoire est tumultueuse. Au cours des temps il passe régulièrement de main en main .

En 1182 et1184 il est attaqué par Richard cœur de lion mais résiste, il tombe aux mains anglaises 15 ans plus tard lorsque Jean sans terre se rend maître de plusieurs châteaux de la vicomté de Limoges. Vers 1210 le château revient à la vicomté. Pendant la guerre de cent ans, il connaît l’occupation anglaise en 1351, il est libéré à nouveau en 1356, rendu aux anglais en 1360 puis libéré une dernière fois par Du Guesclin en 1370.

Puis viennent les guerres de religions, toujours sous l’apanage des vicomte de Limoges il revient à Jeanne d’Albret (mère d’Henri iv) et passe brièvement aux mains des protestants.
Par mariage il devient la propriété de la famille de Talleyrand. Le château est ensuite délaissé pendant des décennies et il se dégrade…en 1973 un incendie ravage les toitures du châtelet.

A la fin du XXème siècle les nouveaux propriétaires, la famille Naudet entreprend des travaux de réhabilitation. aujourd’hui la partie logis et donjon est privée alors que la partie ouest le châtelet appartient à la commune.

Visite du château :

La partie communale du château d’Excideuil est accessible gratuitement toute l’année : vous pourrez y déambuler librement le long des remparts et dans la cour, admirer le panorama sur la vallée de la Loue, et découvrir de juin à octobre dans les salles du châtelet, les expositions de peinture, photo, sculpture,… organisées par l‘association Excit’Œil, en partenariat avec l’Agence Culturelle Départementale et la municipalité.

Equipements

Détail des Tarifs

Gratuit visite libre

Dates et horaires

ouvert toute l'année

 

Secteur
Périgord blanc
Adresse :
Château d'excideuil 24160 Excideuil
Contacter le propriétaire

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Votre téléphone

Sujet

Votre message


Que trouver à proximité ?