What are the colours of Périgord?

Périgord is available in 4 colours: Black, purple, white and green. Historically, we find the trace of these names in ancient works, the Périgord noir refers to the forest (dark), sometimes also to truffles. The white Périgord refers to the chalky and chalky soil that appears in the landscapes, the green Périgord is characterized by its meadows and finally more recently the purple Périgord has been called as such in reference to wine because it hosts many vineyards.All about the Dordogne: frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Dordogne and Périgord?

Today Périgord and the Dordogne department are synonymous and designate the same territory. During the French Revolution, the National Assembly decided to create the departments in order to simplify France's administrative organization. The criteria used for the names of the departments being geographical or hydrographic, Périgord thus receives the name of its main river: the Dordogne.

Where is the Périgord?

Périgord refers to the Dordogne department, located in southwestern France in the new Aquitaine region. It is bordered by the ramparts of the Massif Central to the north, the Causses du Quercy to the east, the orchards of the Lot et Garonne to the south and the Gironde gravel to the west.

What is the Black Périgord?

The Périgord Noir is located in the south-east of the Dordogne Department: Sarlat is the capital, you will also find the following villages there: Montignac, Les Eyzies, Thenon, Terrasson, Belvès, Domme, Le Bugue, Saint Cyprien, Villefranche du Périgord, Hautefort. It refers to its wooded cover with dense foliage making the undergrowth dark. For convenience, black is also associated with truffles, but the presence of this precious fungus would not be at the origin of the appellation.
The Périgord Noir is made up of the Vézère valley and the Dordogne valley.
The Dordogne, Vézère and Céou rivers irrigate this region

What is the Périgord vert?

The Périgord Vert corresponds to the northern part of the Dordogne, it is a very hilly part covered with meadows and to a lesser extent with oak forest. Nontron, Brantôme, Ribérac, Lanouaille, Thiviers and Saint Pardoux la rivière are municipalities in the Périgord vert. It is currently a tourist appellation that includes the Nontron region and the Dronne valley. The Côle, the Auvézère, the Dronne and the Belle flow in this part of the Dordogne

What is the Périgord blanc?

The Périgord Blanc corresponds to the centre of the Dordogne department, its name comes from the white colour of the limestone rocks of the landscape. Périgueux is the capital of the Périgord Blanc, you will also find the villages of Vergt, Mussidan, Neuvic, Saint Astier, Montpon ménestérol and Sorges. To white is referred to the stones of monuments and dwellings, the white stones that appear in cultures and limestone quarries (Saint Astier).
All about the Dordogne: frequently asked questions

What is the Purple Perigord?

The purple Perigord located in the southwestern part of the department takes its name from the purple colour of the autumn foliage of the vines and the colour of the wine. It is a recent appellation that has complemented the Department's other three colours.
Bergerac is the capital of the region. It is also the Country of the Bastides: Beaumont du Périgord, Issigeac, Monpazier, Lalinde and Eymet... All about the Dordogne: frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Périgordins and Périgourdins?

The Périgordins are the inhabitants of the Périgord, i.e. the Dordogne. The term périgourdins is reserved for the inhabitants of Périgueux. But in use, the inhabitants of the Dordogne call themselves Périgourdins (and not Périgordins), it's strange...

What are the names of the inhabitants of the Dordogne?

The inhabitants of the Dordogne are called the Périgordins, Dordognots or Dordognais, but no one in the Dordogne uses these terms, the inhabitants of the Dordogne call themselves Périgourdins (a term normally reserved for the inhabitants of Périgueux)

What is the origin of the name Dordogne?

The Dordogne is a 483 km long river that originates in the Puy de Dome. Two small streams, la Dore and la Dogne, meet to form the Dordogne. And yet the etymology of the word Dordogne does not come from this union. Its name comes from "Durãnius" which means torrent or stream (in the same way as the Durance) and which evolved in Dordonia (9° Century) then in Dordogne.
All about the Dordogne: frequently asked questions

Can you swim in the Dordogne?

The Dordogne is one of the cleanest rivers in France, in summer, its temperature is very mild and it is rather calm, it is shallow in many places and has many beaches on its banks. Of course, all swimming safety instructions must be followed.

What is the prefecture of the Dordogne?

The prefecture of the Dordogne is Perigueux. The department also has 3 sub-prefectures: BergeracNontron and Sarlat-la-Canéda

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce junk. Learn more about how your feedback data is used.