The abyss of Proumeyssac: The largest cavity laid out in Périgord.
History of the Abyss of Proumeyssac
Already in the 18th century, the abyss of Proumeyssac is known in Dordogne For its terrifying legends: there is a steaming orifice on the heights of the small village of Audrix at the edge of the path by which we would have seen the flames come out. This hole is naturally nicknamed "the Devil's Hole", some even think at the time that this hole of" Proumeyssat "would be the crater of a volcano.
Moreover this place enjoyed the reputation of removing the corpses of the travelers robbed and murdered by the brigands.
Multes times the orifice was clogged, but the time doing its work, the hole always ended up discovering itself again. It is this access from the top that makes Proumeyssac a chasm and distinguishes it from a cave. It was in 1907 when we did not speak much of this hole, that the last cap built collapsed, it was then that a driller of the country (Gabriel Galou) under the request of the owner of the land (Pierre Frances) undertook the exploration of the Abyss on March 10 1907 by means of rope and summary lighting. Thus were discovered the splendours of the abyss of Proumeyssac.
As a result, visits were organised safely in the basket by group of 3 people from all over the world, the beginning of the underground tourism in Proumeyssac.
Gradually, the place is better and better equipped, lighting with the help of a generator is set up, one decides to set up a tunnel on the side of the hill to reach foot inside the abyss, a heavy construction site is set up, a tunnel of 112 meter is dug into the rock and no less than 3 of debris from scree are excavated : We will find inside the rocks, bone of animals and humans as well as bronze pieces with the effigy of François 1er. All these treasures are now exhibited at the Abyss Museum.
Geologists and caversists think that under the abyss, there would be another cavity larger than the first but all attempts to update it have for the moment failed.
Visit the abyss of Proumeyssac
Visit and unique presentation: 2 Sounds and light showcase the "Crystal Cathedral".
Through the tunnel, you can easily reach this immense underground vault with the walls adorned with a multitude of crystallizations of exceptional density and beauty. The new highlight of the Chasm, supported by a musical accompaniment complements the originality of this site.
The visit of 45 minutes, commented by experienced guides, leaves an imperishable memory.
For an even more original visit: option of descent in a basket (11 people maxi, with extra charge) to revive the sensations of the pioneers with this spectacular discovery at 360 ° on 50 meters.
The extensive free and open park, reserved for our visitors, has a pedagogical space on the underground mode.
Playful resorts allow the whole family to experiment geologically, to go back in time or to learn to caving through a specific playground.
On the rest of the park many facilities are available to visitors:
– Museum Space
-Playground and relaxation area
-Large lobby with bar, boutique and bookstore
– Fast restoration of 1/04 to 15/09.
We are waiting for you to enjoy an unforgettable visit to the chasm of Proumeyssac.
Group (+ 20pers) Driver and one free attendant
In times of high affluence (July and August), it is strongly recommended to reserve to avoid waiting. Any telephone or internet access is kept up to 10 minutes before the scheduled time of the visit.
Dates and times
Open from 1 February to 31 December
February, November, December: 2 pm to 5 pm.
March, 16 to 30 September, October: 9.30 am to 12 pm and 14.00-17.30.
April, May, June, 1 ° to 15 Sept. : 9.30-18.00
July, August: 9 am to 7 pm.